Are copywriters sellouts?

Some snotty artiste types might say that novelists working as copywriters are sellouts, but I prefer to use the term “employed.”

Do marketers “use” copywriter-novelists in the worst sense of that word? No, smart novelists use marketers to get paid while they do what they enjoy: wordcraft. If a writer can get paid to write, then that writer gets to write instead of wasting good writing time at a day-job that prevents him from writing. Right? Right. So go write.

So ended the debate about whether I should add copywriting to the jumble of things I do to earn my keep and began my epic quest to be The Best Copywriter in the Whole Effing World. Ambitious? Sure, but why would I aim for less?

That means I had better get back to reading more about copywriting and honing my craft.

Leave a Reply

